Historical Books Timeline

1406 [or 1220] b.c.Moses’ death; Israel’s entry into Canaan under Joshua [See The Date of the Exodus]
1375 [or 1210]Joshua’s death
1375–1055 [or 1210–1050/42/30]Period of the judges
1050/42/30–1010Saul’s reign
1010–971David’s reign
971–931Solomon’s reign
931–722Divided kingdom (Israel)—19 kings
722Destruction of Samaria (Israel’s capital) by Assyria; Israel’s resettlement
931–586Divided kingdom (Judah)—19 kings, 1 queen
586Destruction of Jerusalem and temple by Babylon; Judah exiled to Babylon
586–538Judah’s exile in Babylon
561Release of King Jehoiachin from prison in Babylon
539Cyrus II of Persia captures Babylon
538First return of Jews to Jerusalem under Jeshua and Zerubbabel
516Temple rebuilding completed
478Esther and Mordecai rise in the Persian court
458Ezra’s return to Jerusalem from Babylon
445Nehemiah’s return to Jerusalem from Babylon
445–???Walls of Jerusalem rebuilt
433Nehemiah’s visit to Babylon and return to Jerusalem

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *